RECOGNITION OF THE GENOCIDE PERPETRATED AGAINST THE AZERI POPULATION BY THE ARMENIANS

Doc. 9066 2nd edition 14 May 2001

Written Declaration No. 324 2nd edition, originally tabled on 26 April 2001

This written declaration commits only the members who have signed it

Genocide became an integral part of the Azeri history starting from the partition of the Azeri lands with the treaties of Gulustan in 1813 and Turkmenchay in 1828.

The Armenians carried out massacres against the Azeris in 1905-1907 in order to achieve "the Greater Armenia".

In March 1918 the Armenians purged the Azeris from Baku, Shamakhy, Guba, Karabakh, Zangezur, Nakhchivan, Lankaran and other regions of Azerbaijan.

With the help of the Soviet regime, Armenia annexed Zangezur and other Azeri lands in 1920.

The Communist regime deported the Azeri population from their historical lands in Armenia to Azerbaijan from 1948-1953.

From the beginning of the Nagorny Karabakh conflict in 1988 hundreds of thousands of Azeris were deported from their historical lands.

On 26 February 1992, Armenians massacred the whole population of Khodjaly and fully destroyed the city.

Armenian separatism in Nagorny Karabakh and the ongoing Armenian occupation of 20 per cent of the Azeri territory has resulted in thousands of deaths and more than a million refugees.

The undersigned, members of the Assembly, appeal to all the members of the Parliamentary Assembly to take the necessary steps to recognise the genocide perpetrated by the Armenians against the Azeri population from the beginning of the 19th Century.

Signed [1]: Aliyev I, Azerbaijan, EDG Akcal?, Turkey, EDG Akgonenc, Turkey, EDG Aliyev G., Azerbaijan, EDG Begaj, Albania, SOC Cerrahoglu, Turkey, EDG Davis, United Kingdom, SOC Dokle, Albania, SOC Glesener, Luxembourg, EPP/CD Gul, Turkey, EDG Gulek, Turkey, SOC Gurkan, Turkey, SOC Hajiyeva, Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Ibrahimov, Azerbaijan, UEL Irtemcelik, Turkey, EDG Iw?nski, Poland, SOC Kalkan, Turkey, EDG Loutfi, Bulgaria, LDR Mutman, Turkey, SOC

Saele, Norway, EPP/CD Saglam, Turkey, EPP/CD Seyidov, Azerbaijan, EDG

Tan?k, Turkey, EDG

Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG

Polozhani, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", EDG

Taylor, United Kingdom, EPP/CD Telek, Turkey, EDG Vakilov, Azerbaijan, EDG Jones, United Kingdom, SOC

Total = 30

1 SOC: Socialist Group

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party

ETY/CB. Group of the Ediopean Feople's Farty EDG:European Democratic Group LDR: Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: Not registered in a group