SEIZURE AND DESTRUCTION OF AZERBAIJANI CULTURAL HERITAGE

Doc. 9147 27 June 2001

Motion for a recommendation presented by Mr Rafael Huseynov and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

One of the tragic consequences of Armenian aggression towards the Republic of Azerbaijan besides the occupation of 20 per cent of the territory of the country is the destruction and seizure of Azerbaijani national and cultural heritage. In spite of many appeals by international organisations, Armenia has not made any constructive steps towards providing security for the cultural wealth of Azerbaijan left in the occupied regions.

500 historical architectural and more than 100 archeological monuments, 22 museums, 4 art galleries, 927 libraries, 85 musical schools, 4 state theatres remain on the occupied territories of Azerbaijan.

As a result of military actions, the Museums of Historical and Regional Studies in Kelbajar and Lachin, the Museums of History of Shusha and Karabakh, the Stone Monuments Museums in Zangelan as well as many others were plundered and destroyed.

The occupations caused the levelling to the ground of unique monuments of the Bronze Epoch - Khojaly Barrow Field with about 100 barrows.

The Assembly is deeply alarmed by the transformation of the Azykh Cave, a precious monument, which is one of the oldest places of human civilization, into an ammunition dump.

The number of cases of misappropriation of Azerbaijani works of art and literature by Armenians verified by the Copyright Protection Agency of the Republic of Azerbaijan cause serious concern to the Azerbaijani people.

Taking into account that the cultural heritage created in the course of many centuries does not belong only to a separate nation or a country but also is a constituent part of world culture, the Parliamentary Assembly appeals to the Committee of Ministers to take the necessary steps to promote stopping the destruction and misappropriation of the Azerbaijani cultural heritage.

Signed : [1] Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Aliyev B., Azerbaijan, SOC Aliyev G., Azerbaijan, EDG Angelovicova, Slovakia, SOC Gamzatova, Russia, UEL Hajiyeva, Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Huseynov A., Azerbaijan, EDG Kalkan, Turkey, EDG Marxer, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD Polozhani, " the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia ", EDG Saglam, Turkey, EPP/CD Seyidov, Azerbaijan, EDG Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG Tanik, Turkey, EDG Taylor, United Kingdom, EPP/CD Telek, Turkey, EDG Vakilov, Azerbaijan, EDG Vanoost, Belgium, SOC

[1] SOC: Socialist Group EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party EDG: European Democratic Group LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: not registered in a group