RIGHTS TO EDUCATION OF REFUGEES AND DISPLACED PEOPLE IN AZERBAIJAN IN THE CONTEXT OF FUTURE DEVELOPMENT IN THE FIELD OF EDUCATION IN EUROPE

Doc. 9237 26 September 2001

Motion for a recommendation presented by Mr Huseynov R. and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

Independence of Azerbaijan, gained ten years ago created opportunities for substantial development in the field of education with a view of implementation of the European and international standards and establishment of active cooperation with advanced European educational centres. However, the past twelve years of war and aggression, hampered development of educational system in Azerbaijan.

As the result of military aggression by Armenia against Azerbaijan, 616 secondary schools, 234 pre-school centres, 12 vocational schools, 5 technical schools, 1 university, 3 university branches and 3 vocational school branches on the occupied territories remain demolished. Incurred damage has been estimated at about \$1.5 billion. The occupation has resulted in forcedly displacement of about 20,000 employees in the field of education and about 130,000 pupils and students.

Today, in 48 regions of Azerbaijan there are 702 solely refugee secondary schools, including 30 located in the tent camps. About 90,000 pupils are going to these schools, in which 12,206 teachers and instructors take care of their education and fostering.

Other internally displaced pupils have been placed in schools throughout the country. However, that led to artificially increased number of pupils in classes, thus negatively affecting the quality of education throughout the country.

Being deeply concerned with the existing problems in the field of education faced by refugees, the Parliamentary Assembly herein strongly urges the Committee of Ministers to pay the necessary attention to the respective matter.

Signed: [1] Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Akgonenc, Turkey, EDG Aliyev I., Azerbaijan, EDG Cerrahoglu, Turkey, EDG Duka-Zolyomi, Slovakia, EPP/CD Frey, Switzerland, LDR Gibula, Poland, SOC Haupert, Luxembourg, EPP/CD Kalkan, Turkey, EDG Kilclooney, United Kingdom, EPP/CD Loutfi, Bulgaria, LDR Marshall, United Kingdom, SOC Martinez Casan, Spain, EPP/CD Mestan, Bulgaria, LDR Mutman, Turkey, SOC Rigoni, Italy, EPP/CD Saglam, Turkey, EPP/CD Seyidov, Azerbaijan, EDG Tanik, Turkey, EDG Telek, Turkey, EDG Tepshi, Albania, EPP/CD Valleix, France, EDG Velikov, Bulgaria, NR

[1] SOC: Socialist Group

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party

EDG: European Democratic Group

LDR: Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group

UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

NR: not registered in a group