ARMENIAN-AZERBAIJAN (MOUNTAINOUS-KARABAKH) CONFLICT

Doc. 9239 27 September 2001

Motion for a resolution presented by Mr Aliyev I. and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

- 1. Armenia and Azerbaijan have been fully-fledged members of the Council of Europe since 25 January 2001. Adopting these countries into the European family the Assembly was aware of the hard and bloody conflict between them; but the desire to assist them in the solution to this problem was one of the major factors to support Azerbaijan and Armenia while they stepped into the Council of Europe.
- 2. Along with it, the Assembly certifies that the conflict around the Mountainous Karabakh has not been submitted for a discussion either at any Committee or at the Assembly as a whole during more than half-year period after Azerbaijan and Armenia entered the Council of Europe. Even the intensification of negotiations within the framework of OSCE Minsk Group did not bring to any advancement in the solution of the said conflict.
- 3. Realising the importance of this problem in the South Caucasus, also taking into consideration the fact that the continuation of the confrontation may lead to destabilisation at the whole Caucasian region the Assembly considers:
- a. Time has come to discuss Armenian-Azerbaijan conflict around the Mountainous Karabakh, to refer it clearly and impartially to the Council of Europe will serve the consolidation of peace among peoples of Armenia and Azerbaijan, and consequently to establish stability at the Caucasus as well as in Europe as a whole.
- b. Political Committee of the Parliamentary Assembly should hold discussions on this issue with the aim of submitting a report on the results gained to the Assembly meeting.

Signed: [1] Aliyev I., Azerbaijan, EDG Akcali, Turkey, EDG Akgonenc, Turkey, EDG Akhvlediani, Georgia, LDR Aliyev G., Azerbaijan, EDG Barsony, Hungary, SOC Baumel, France, EDG Belohorska, Slovakia, EDG Bilovol, Ukraine, EDG Cerrahoglu, Turkey, EDG Chapman, United Kingdom, EDG Chikhradze, Georgia, EPP/CD Clerfayt, Belgium, LDR Fyfe, United Kingdom, SOC Gonul, Turkey, EPP/CD Haack, Germany, SOC Hajiyeva, Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Hoeffel, France, EPP/CD Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, EPP/CD Jones, United Kingdom, SOC Lord Judd, United Kingdom, SOC Kalkan, Turkey, EDG Keltosova, Slovakia, EDG Kovalev S., Russia, LDR Kroupa, Czech Republic, EPP/CD Landsbergis, Lithuania, EDG Libane, Latvia, LDR Lloyd, United Kingdom, SOC Martinez Cazan ,Spain, EPP/CD Marty, Switzerland, LDR McNamara, United Kingdom, SOC Nemcova, Czech Republic, EDG Olteanu, Romania, SOC

Paleckova, Czech Republic, EDG
Popescu, Ukraine, SOC
Rogozin, Russia, EDG
Saglam, Turkey, EPP/CD
Sehnalova, Czech Republic, SOC
Seyidov, Azerbaijan, EDG
Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG
Simonsen, Norway, LDR
Skrabalo, Croatia, LDR
Stankevic, Lithuania, LDR
Telek, Turkey, EDG
Tepshi, Albania, EPP/CD
Tevdoradze, Georgia, EDG
Tkac, Slovakia, EDG
Vakilov, Azerbaijan, EDG
Wilkinson, United Kingdom, EDG
Wilshire, United Kingdom, EDG

[1] SOC: Socialist Group

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party

EDG: European Democratic Group

LDR: Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group

UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

NR: not registered in a group