NUCLEAR TECHNOLOGIES AND NUCLEAR WASTE IN THE OCCUPIED TERRITORIES OF THE REPUBLIC OF AZERBAIJAN

Doc. 9444 7 May 2002

Motion for a resolution presented by Mr Rafael Huseynov and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

One of the consequences of the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict has been the creation of uncontrolled nuclear zones on the land occupied by Armenian military forces, the Karabakh mountains and seven other regions of the Republic of Azerbaijan, causing serious danger for the whole of the South Caucasus region.

There are 29 radiation centres in occupied territory. Radiation and nuclear waste in this area has contaminated 80 000 hectares of agricultural land, 150 000 hectares of forest, 22 000 hectares of personal plots and two reservations.

The Armenian companies "Razdanmash", "Armavir", "Akopyan", "JacMacMetals" and "Vartaniol" transfer the nuclear technologies through the Nagorny Karabakh area to Iran and Iraq. The latter company is also involved in the process of modernising the "C-300" and "Typhoon" missiles in the occupied territory.

The laboratories of the St. Petersburg Physics Institute, Moscow's Institute on Nuclear Technologies Kurchatov and the Minsk Nuclear Physics Institute are working in the Karabakh mountains. The nuclear waste from these laboratories and the Armenian nuclear power station "Metsamor" has been buried in special barrels in the districts of Almaly, Kolatag and Seidbeyli in the Karabakh mountainous region.

The "Union Atomic Garbage Plc.", an atomic waste disposal contractor based in the Bahamas, has built concrete nuclear waste burial pits in the Karabakh mountains.

Approximately half of the area of the occupied Djebrail region of Azerbaijan was leased out to Iranian citizens. Nuclear waste is buried in the eastern part of this region, and 219 square kilometres are covered by high radiation. Part of that region close to Iran (93 square kilometres) has been let for ten years to the Iranian border forces.

The nuclear threat to the region also appeared as a result of the use by Armenians of nuclear warheads during the occupation of the Kalbajar region of Azerbaijan in 1993, and the experts' opinion is that this contaminated zone can be rectified in twenty-five years, at the least (Microbiology Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the Russian Federation, "Messenger" 1997, November 14).

The forest zone of 280 square kilometres of the occupied Lachin region of Azerbaijan was let to American citizen G. Ohanyan, who has built a munitions factory in this area. The 1996 report of the Armenian Institute on Toxicology shows the 320 square kilometres of agricultural land in the Lachin region transformed into a zone of mass destruction.

The increase of nuclear weapons, nuclear technologies and nuclear waste in the occupied territories of the Republic of Azerbaijan, which is outside international control, represents a serious obstacle to the future peace and stability of the Caucasus and a real danger of larger catastrophes.

The Assembly considers that the existence of unlawful zones in the occupied territories of Azerbaijan creates real nuclear danger for the whole of the Caucasus.

The Assembly urges the Armenian authorities to stop the escalation of nuclear danger in the region.

The Assembly calls on the member states of the Council of Europe to refrain from any nuclear co-operation with Armenia and Iran creating radiation zones on the occupied areas of Azerbaijan.

The Assembly therefore asks its Political Affairs Committee and Committee on the Environment and Agriculture to consider the issue presented and to draft a recommendation on it.

Signed :[1] Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, LDR Abbasov, Azerbaijan, EDG

Akcali, Turkey, EDG Akgoncenc, Turkey, EDG Aliyev G., Azerbaijan, EDG Baciu, Roumanie, SOC Billing, Sweden EPP Bindig, Germany, SOC Briane, France, EPP Budisa, Croatia, LDR Ceder, Belgium, NR Cekuolis, Lithuania, LDR Cerrahoglu, Turkey, EDG Chapman, United Kingdom, EDG Clerfayt, Belgium, LDR Duka-Zolyomi, Slovakia, EPP Elo, Finland, SOC Engeset, Norway, EPP Giertych, Poland, EDG Glesener, Luxembourg, EPP Gligoroski, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", EPP Gonul, Turkey, EPP Goulet, France, EDG Gubert, Italy, EPP Gulek, Turkey, SOC Gurkan, Turkey, SOC Haack, Germany, SOC Hajiyeva, Azerbaijan, EPP Hoie, Norway, EPP Hooper, United Kingdom, EDG Hordies, Belgium, NR Huseynov A., Azerbaijan, EDG Ilascu, Romania, NR Isohookana-Asunmaa, Finland, LDR Kestelijn-Sierens, Belgium, LDR Kilclooney, United Kingdom, EPP Kostenko Y., Ukraine, EDG Kostytsky, Ukraine, EPP Kovalev S., Russia, LDR Kresak, Slovakia, LDR Landsbergis, Lithuania, EDG Lekberg, Sweden, SOC Libicki, Poland, EDG Lloyd, United Kingdom, SOC Magnusson, Sweden, SOC Martinez Casan, Spain, EPP Meelak, Estonia, NR Mutman, Turkey, SOC Nessa, Italy, EPP Onur, Germany, SOC Paegle, Latvia, EPP Pangalos, Greece, SOC Pellicini, Italy, EDG Pintat Rossell, Andorra, LDR Piscitello, Italy, LDR Pollozhani,"the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", EDG Popescu, Ukraine, SOC Prisacaru, Romania, SOC Ragnarsdottir, Iceland, EDG Rakhansky, Ukraine, UEL Rigoni, Italy, EPP Saglam, Turkey, EPP Seyidov S., Azerbaijan, EDG Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG Skarbovik, Norway, EPP Skrabalo, Croatia, LDR Stoisits, Austria, SOC Telek, Turkey, EDG Tepshi, Albania, EPP

Tirelli, Italy, LDR Tokic, Bosnia and Herzegovina, SOC Topalli, Albania, EPP Tudor, Romania, NR Vanoost, Belgium, SOC Vos, Netherlands, LDR Wilkinson, United Kingdom, EDG Yurur, Turkey, EDG

[1] SOC: Socialist Group EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party EDG: European Democratic Group LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: not registered in a group